If you are arrested, charged, and convicted of a sex crime or other serious offense, you may be ordered by a judge to register as a sex offender. In Nebraska, the Nebraska State Patrol, Sex Offender Registry Division of Investigative Services maintains and controls the registration files. Those convicted of sex crimes such as rape, crimes against children, and certain violent crimes like murder or kidnapping may have to register. However, juveniles are not required to register.
Here’s what you need to know:
THE REGISTRATION PROCESS
If you have been ordered to register as a sex offender, you will need to provide the state agency with various details. These include your name, address, date of birth, social security number, employment or education status, vehicle information, telephone number, and criminal history information. You will also get fingerprinted, provide a sample of your DNA, and have your photograph taken.
For a free legal consultation, call 402-466-8444
LEGAL PROTECTIONS FOR REGISTERED SEX OFFENDERS
By law, if you are a registered sex offender, you are protected from harassment, bullying, threats, and vandalism. Furthermore, you, your family, and your employer are also legally protected from harassment or retaliation of any kind.
PUBLIC INFORMATION REGARDING REGISTERED SEX OFFENDERS
Once you have registered, your information will be available to the general public. The Nebraska sex offender online registry allows people to search by location, name, or region. Your name and physical description, along with information about your vehicle, school, home address, and your criminal offense, will be available to the public.
Click to contact our lawyers today
OTHER INFORMATION FOR REGISTERED SEX OFFENDERS
Refusing to register as a sex offender is a criminal offense, as is providing false information, failing to report your employment or education, and failing to change your address at least 3 work days before you move. While the state of Nebraska does not limit where a sex offender can live, specific cities may impose restrictions. For misdemeanor offenses, you will be registered for 15 years. However, for non-aggravated felonies, you will have to be registered for 25 years, and for aggravated felonies or repeat offenses, you will be registered for life.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
AGGRESSIVE NEBRASKA CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEYS
If you have been charged with a crime, Berry Law can help. We know the consequences of a conviction can last the rest of your life. That is why our Omaha criminal defense lawyers will use efficient legal strategies and thorough representation for your case. With more than a century of combined experience, we can fight diligently on your behalf as you seek to lessen or drop the charges.
To discuss your situation with a dedicated legal advocate, contact our firm today.
Call or text 402-466-8444 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form