Procuring Alcohol to a Minor in Nebraska
Criminal charges relating to minors typically have severe punishments, especially when it comes to alcohol or drugs. Often individuals in the presence of minors who have been drinking or are under the influence of alcohol will be charged with procuring alcoholic liquor to a minor. These charges carry severe penalties that can have a lasting impact.
Procuring Alcoholic Liquor to a Minor
Nebraska Revised Statute 53-180 states, “No person shall sell, furnish, give away, exchange, or deliver, or permit the sale, gift, or procuring of, any alcoholic liquors to or for any minor or to any person who is mentally incompetent.” This means that if you buy alcohol for the purpose of distributing it to minors, then you can face a criminal charge. In fact, a minor can even be charged under this statute. For example, if a minor purchases alcohol with a fake ID (which is also illegal and contains its own penalties) and provides the alcohol to other minors, the buyer may face a procuring charge.
What are the penalties for Procuring Alcohol to a Minor?
The punishments for procuring alcohol for a minor vary based on the situation:
Unintentionally providing alcohol to a minor – If a person does not knowingly and intentionally violate the law (i.e. a liquor store clerk selling to a person with a fake ID and not knowing it), then it is considered a Class I misdemeanor. This classification carries the penalties of no more than a year imprisonment, up to $1,000 in fines, or both.
Knowingly and intentionally providing alcohol to a minor – If a person knowingly and intentionally violates the law, then they will be charged with a Class I misdemeanor. This classification carries the penalties of no more than a year imprisonment, up to $1,000 in fines, or both.
Misrepresenting age – If a minor obtains, or attempts to obtain, alcoholic liquor while underage, it is a Class III misdemeanor. This classification carries the penalties of up to 3 months imprisonment, up to $500 in fines, or both.
Parent/Guardian knowingly permit a minor to consume alcohol – If a parent or guardian knowingly allows a minor to consume alcohol, they will be charged with a Class III misdemeanor. This classification carries the penalties of up to 3 months imprisonment, up to $500 in fines, or both.
Individuals charged with procuring alcohol to a minor will also face any additional charges that arise from any injury or death that was caused by the consumption of alcohol by the minor or any impairment of the minor caused by alcohol.
Berry Law: Criminal Defense and Personal Injury Lawyers’s Criminal Defense Attorneys
Procuring alcohol to a minor can lead to serious criminal charges ranging from a misdemeanor to a felony. The punishments for these charges tend to be severe. Even a misdemeanor can have a damaging impact on your future. If you have been charged with procuring alcohol to a minor, it is in your best interest to contact an experienced defense attorney as soon as possible. An attorney can provide you the opportunity to build a strong defense for your case and reach the best possible outcome. Contact our team today at 402-817-6469 to schedule a confidential consultation with a dedicated criminal defense attorney.