Sex Offender Registration FAQ
Which Crimes Warrant Sex Offender Registration in Nebraska?
Individuals convicted of sex crimes are subject to the penalties of both state and federal law. According to federal statutes and Nebraska laws, criminal convictions that could land you on the sex offender list include:
- Creation, distribution, and/or possession of child pornography
- Debauching a minor
- Enticing a child to commit unlawful sexual acts through social media, the Internet, or other digital means
- Falsely imprisoning a minor
- Felony child sexual abuse
- Felony statutory rape
- Incest with a minor
- Indecent exposure and public indecency
- Kidnapping a minor by anyone who is not the child’s parent
- Pandering of a minor
- Participating in child sex trafficking as a buyer, seller, or facilitator
- Producing child pornography with the intent to import it into the U.S.
- Second or first-degree sexual abuse of a parolee or inmate
- Sexual exploitation of children under the age of 18
- Sexually abusing an adult who is vulnerable due to age, illness, mental state, etc.
- Sexually assaulting a spouse
- Transporting a minor across state or national boundaries for the purpose of prostitution or other unlawful sexual conduct
- Transporting an adult across state or national boundaries for the purpose of prostitution or other unlawful sexual conduct
- Travelling to another state or country for the purposes of participating in unlawful sexual activity with a minor
- Unlawfully intruding on a minor
- Violent sexual crimes such as battery and rape
All of the crimes previously listed will require you to register as a sex offender, regardless if it is a felony or a misdemeanor. You may also be required to register as a sex offender if your criminal episode involves assault to any degree, manslaughter, murder, or stalking. Juveniles are not required to be registered if they were charged in a juvenile court.
How Long Do I Have to be Registered for?
If you have been convicted of an offense that is necessary of registration and is punishable by no more than one year of imprisonment (primarily misdemeanor offenses), you must be registered for 15 years.
If you have been convicted of an offense that is necessary of registration and is punishable by more than one year imprisonment (certain felony charges), you must be registered for 25 years.
If you have been convicted of an offense that is necessary of registration and is punishable by more than one year imprisonment and have been convicted of an aggravated offense, or have prior sex offense convictions (felony or misdemeanor), you must be registered for life.
The duration of registration and the requirements change almost every year. Regardless of the rules when you were convicted, most changes in the law impact a person who has to register.
How Do I Register as a Sex Offender in Nebraska?
From the time you are convicted of a sex crime and officially made subject to the Sex Offender Registration Act, you have 3 business days to report to the nearest Nebraska State Patrol location and complete your registration. You must do so on a weekday between the hours of 8:30 AM and 3:30 PM.
What Information Must be Provided for my Sex Offender Registration?
A registration agency will complete a form for your registration that contains:
- Phone Number
- Date of Birth
- Physical Description
- Complete Address History
- Vehicle Information
- Employment Information
- School Information
- Criminal Information
They will also obtain your DNA, fingerprints, and a photograph that will all be sent to the Nebraska State Patrol. The process contains no fees or charges.
What Happens if I Fail to Register as a Sex Offender?
If you fail to register with the Nebraska Sex Offender Registry within 3 days of your sentencing or fail to update your contact information as soon as it changes, Nebraska law enforcement will issue a warrant for your arrest and you could be imprisoned for up to 10 years.
After I Initially Register, what happens?
After you register, you are required to update your address and place of employment on a regular basis with the sheriff of the county where you reside and/or work.
If you fail to check in as periodically required by the law, Nebraska law enforcement will issue a warrant for your arrest and you could be imprisoned for up to 10 years.
What Information is Posted About Me?
The information that will be released to the public when you register includes your:
- Physical Description
- Duration of Registration
What Restrictions & Penalties Are There for Registered Sex Offenders in Nebraska?
As a registered sex offender, anyone can look you up on the Nebraska Sex Offender Registry, see where you live, and review the sexual offense(s) for which you have been convicted. Your official sex offender registration will show up in background checks and could make it challenging for you to get better, more lucrative jobs. It can also make you subject to harassment, negative social stigma, and regular invasion of your privacy.
Some cities have restrictions on where a sex offender can reside. If the city chooses to implement residence restrictions, sex offenders may not be able to live near a school or daycare provider.
We May Be Able to Help Defend You Against Your Sex Crime Charges.
At Berry Law Firm, we may be able to help you stay off the Nebraska Sex Offender Registry and preserve your ability to live a normal life after the conclusion of your criminal case. Being a registered sex offender can be personally, socially, financially, and professionally crippling, and you may need the help of a Nebraska criminal defense attorney if you wish to obtain a more positive outcome.
We have the skill and knowledge necessary to help you assess your options and make informed decisions throughout your criminal matter. Allow us to come alongside you and be your advocates during this challenging time.