What are the Reporting Requirements under the Uniform Credentialing Act?
The Uniform Credentialing Act is intended to protect public health, safety, and welfare in the state of Nebraska through the regulation and licensure of persons and businesses that provide healthcare and health related services. Examples of common professions licensed under the Act include:
- medicine and surgery
- emergency medical services
- athletic training
- massage therapy
- alcohol and drug counseling
In addition to meeting individual licensing requirements, every person subject to the Act has a legal obligation to report first-hand knowledge of illegal or unethical activities within their specific profession. Such reports must be submitted to the Nebraska Department of Health & Human Services within 30 days of occurrence. For instance, knowledge of another person’s gross incompetence or pattern of negligent conduct is grounds for filing a report. The Act does not, however, limit reporting only to the conduct others. Licensed professionals also have a legal duty to report their own adverse conduct.
Many situations can trigger the Act’s self-reporting requirement. Licensure denial, loss of employment, and adverse action pertaining to professional liability coverage are all events which must be self-reported. Failure to self-report a required event within 30 days from occurrence can result in discipline from a professional’s respective licensure board. When it comes to criminal charges, licensed professionals are required to self-report all felony or misdemeanor convictions. It’s important to note that under Nebraska law, there is no conviction until a court pronounces the sentence and enters a judgment. This means that licensed professionals with unresolved criminal charges need to consult with a criminal defense attorney as early as possible.
Protecting Your License and Credentials
The manner in which a criminal case is handled can make a significant difference in safeguarding a professional’s license. Failing to self-report can result in fines and sanctions but worst of all, it can lead to the suspension or revocation of a license. Berry Law Firm understands this risk and the negative impact it can have on a hard-earned career. If you work in a profession subject to Uniform Credentialing Act and have questions about self-reporting a criminal charge please contact Berry Law Firm.