The penalties for some sex offenses can be quite severe. Therefore, it is best to seek legal representation if you are facing these allegations. A Douglas County sex crimes lawyer from Berry Law can provide legal assistance if you are facing allegations of criminal sexual activity.
One of the many ways an aggressive defense lawyer could help is by safeguarding your constitutional rights. An experienced lawyer could also fight the charges from the outset to give you the best chance of a positive outcome.
Misdemeanor Sex Offenses and Penalties
Misdemeanor sex offenses in Douglas County are outlined in chapter 28 of the Nebraska Revised Statutes. Examples of Class I misdemeanor sex offenses include solicitation of prostitution, subsequent prostitution offenses with two or more prior convictions, and sexual assault in the third degree. Class I misdemeanor sex offenses are punishable by a $1,000 fine and confinement in jail for up to one year.
Examples of Class II misdemeanor sex offenses include public indecency or indecent exposure and the first or second offense prostitution. The penalties for Class II misdemeanor sex offenses are less severe than those associated with Class I misdemeanor offenses and include a fine up to $1,000 and confinement in jail for up to six months.
For a free legal consultation with a sex crimes lawyer serving Douglas County, call 402-466-8444
Felony Sex Crime Charges in Douglas County
Douglas County felony sex offenses are described in the same chapter of the Nebraska Revised Statutes where misdemeanor sex offenses are outlined. The penalties for felony sex offenses are more severe than for misdemeanors.
For example, the penalties for sexual assault in the first degree, which is a Class II felony, include a prison sentence of up to 50 years. A subsequent first-degree sexual assault charge is a Class IB felony, and a conviction comes with a mandatory minimum of 25 years in prison. Sexual assault in the first degree occurs when a person commits sexual penetration of another individual without consent or when the alleged victim was physically or mentally incapable of consenting or resisting. Statutory rape of a minor also is considered sexual assault in the first degree.
Possession of child pornography is a Class IIA felony and can be punished by imprisonment for up to 20 years. Another felony sex offense involves solicitation of prostitution from a person under 18 years of age, which is a Class IV felony. This offense is punishable by a $10,000 fine, imprisonment for up to two years, and post-release supervision for up to 12 months.
Douglas County Sex Crimes Lawyer Near Me 402-466-8444
State Sex Offender Registry Requirements
Convictions for many misdemeanor and felony sex offenses require registration on the state sex offender registry list. The length of registration required depends on the particular offense. For example, some misdemeanor sexual offenses require registration for 15 years, while some felonies require registration for 25 years.
A conviction for a sex offense when there is at least one prior conviction could result in mandatory registration for life. A sex crimes attorney in Douglas County could answer questions about registry requirements.
Click to contact our lawyers today
Fight Back with a Douglas County Sex Crimes Attorney
You do not have to fight criminal charges for an alleged sex offense on your own. A Douglas County sex crimes lawyer could provide essential legal assistance by protecting your legal rights and defending you against the charges you’re facing.
It does not matter if the criminal charges against you involve solicitation, sexual assault, or another sex-based offense, an attorney who understands sex crime laws could provide the legal representation you need. Call Berry Law to schedule a confidential consultation and begin preparing your defense today.
Call or text 402-466-8444 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form