Many Nebraskans carry a concealed firearm, but those who wish to do so need to know the basics of obtaining a concealed carry (CCW) permit. Below are some helpful facts to know about the application process in Nebraska.
The biggest prerequisite to receiving a CCW permit is taking a handgun training and safety course. Under Nebraska law, the Nebraska State Patrol establishes the minimum training requirements as well as training rules and regulations. During this course, you will learn the basics about using a handgun, such as safe handling of the gun and ammunition, safe handgun shooting fundamentals, and an overview of applicable laws for use, transportation, and storage of your weapon.
Take a Course
There are many private businesses and local entities that offer the course. When choosing a course, be sure to choose one you know follows the standards approved by the Nebraska State Patrol (you can find a list of approved instructors on statepatrol.nebraska.gov under the “Services” tab). Once you have finished the course, you will be given a certificate that you can bring with you when you apply for your CCW permit as proof of training.
Residency, Age & Eyesight
For a free legal consultation, call 402-466-8444
In addition to taking the safety course, you will need proof of Nebraska residency for at least 180 days (this requirement is skipped if you are a member or the spouse of a member of the armed forces stationed in Nebraska). You must be at least 21 years old and able to pass the minimum eyesight requirements to possess a Nebraska driver’s license.
Applying for a CCW Permit
Applications must be made in person at any Nebraska State Patrol Troop Headquarters or office provided by the patrol to take applications. When applying, you will present to the State Patrol your Nebraska driver’s license, Nebraska-issued state identification card, or military identification card. You will also present your proof of training. Two legible sets of fingerprints will be provided for a background check.
By law, the State Patrol must issue the CCW permit within 45 days of the application if the applicant has complied with all the requirements of the Nebraska Concealed Handgun Permit Act.
Be honest when giving information to the State Patrol. Nebraska law classifies giving false information or offering false evidence of one’s identity during the CCW permit application process as a Class IV Felony.
What If I Can’t Get a CCW Permit?
Click to contact our lawyers today
There are various provisions in Nebraska law that prevent certain people from getting a CCW permit. If you have been convicted of a felony anywhere or are prohibited by federal law from purchasing or possessing a handgun, you will not be issued a CCW permit in Nebraska. You will also be prevented from obtaining the permit if you have been convicted of a “misdemeanor crime of violence” in the last ten years or found to be a mentally ill and dangerous person or adjudged mentally incompetent. If you have been convicted of any crime related to firearms, unlawful use of a weapon, or controlled substances within the last ten years, you will not be able to receive a permit. In addition to these issues, you cannot be issued a permit while on parole, probation, house arrest, or work release.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
If you are facing issues with obtaining a Nebraska CCW permit or facing a CCW violation, take immediate action to protect your rights. Contact Berry Law to speak with our firearms attorneys and discuss your legal options.
Call or text 402-466-8444 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form